First day of Maternity Leave

yoga

I began my first ‘official’ day of maternity leave today, I still woke up at 6am with Jon as I’m always an early riser! We took the dogs on a walk before Jon left for work, and once they had calmed down after their breakfast I began my new morning exercise routine.

I had a look for Pregnancy Yoga videos on YouTube, and came across this great series by Body Talk, to view the video click here. I completed videos 1 and 2 and found them to be very useful, although I was reminded of just how inflexible I am! I had come across some of the movements before in yoga classes I had attended, others were new, but I found the trainer very easy to follow and it helped that at the time of filming she was in the third trimester of pregnancy.

As my baby is currently breech I followed this up with a 15 minute breech tilt whilst listening to Rod Stewart! I found this video to be useful in understanding how to do a breech tilt. I finished my exercise routine with some pelvic floor exercises using the ‘my pelvic floor fitness’ app developed by tena, this is a good little app to assist you with pelvic floor exercises, and you can set a daily reminder so you don’t forget to do them.

The rest of my day has been spent tidying and organising my office, in preparation for me solely working from home for the foreseeable future. Although I am on maternity leave I am still working on my PhD and overseeing my company but at a slower pace!

I’m off to work on a new service we are adding to the business next summer, currently hush hush but very exciting! As it is early days the scoping exercise consists of sitting in the garden reading books and journal articles on the subject, a girl could get used to this way of working!

Will let you know tomorrow what I think of the third and forth pregnancy yoga videos.

Hope all you mums to be are keeping cool!

Rosie x

 

 

Leave a Reply

