Why I’m Here

Morning!

One of my goals for this year is to really get this blog up and running. I’ve joined a course called Blogging101 which sets daily tasks to compete. Let’s see how I get on!

The task for today is to introduce ourselves explain and why we set up our blog.

I’m Rosie, I’m a part-time PhD researcher at the University of Exeter, looking at how music affects people living with dementia. I run a small business (www.musica-music.co.uk), and most importantly I have recently become a first time mum to baby Ellie who is 3 months old.

I decided to write this blog during my pregnancy as I was fed up of people telling me I would no longer be able to study once I had a child. I am determined to prove these people wrong, and I want to document my journey, juggling motherhood and academia. I’m not claiming to be superwoman and I know it won’t be easy, but I want to (hopefully) show others that you can do both.

I will also blog about being a first time mum and everything that goes with it. I would love to connect with other PhD candidates not just those with children, as well as other parents.

In 6 months time I would love to have a strong following on the blog and to write guest posts for other bloggers.

So there you have it in a nutshell!

Rosie x

5 thoughts on “Why I’m Here

  1. ladolcevita2004 says:

    Good luck! I am also a PhD student/mummy doing the Blogging 101 – although your blog looks a lot more elegant than mine!

Leave a Reply

