Planning or Literature Review which comes first?

Morning!

Very lucky that baby Ellie is sleeping for long stretches at the moment, giving me a good chunk of the morning to dedicate to my work.
I am in a predicament at the moment, I have been planning out my study to start in the autumn, I am conscious that the musician I will be using is away for a few weeks and so need to plan the study around this, whilst also bearing in mind the time it will take for ethical approval.

I am wondering how long the study should be, 4 weeks or more? What is the criteria for deciding the length of the study? Should u be reading more before contemplating the length of the study? Once I decide on my main aims, perhaps this will become clearer.

I only have small windows to conduct my study, Winter is usually a bad time to run a study in hospitals because of the winter bug. I am planning on being pregnant towards the end of next year and so would like to write up my analyses before then. I know things don’t always go to plan but this is the rough idea!

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Rosie

One thought on “Planning or Literature Review which comes first?

  1. I think it depends on what your study is exactly – what data do you need to collect? Would it be helpful to plan data collection in two separate sessions to span a wider time frame? I wish I had had a clearer idea of what I wanted to do before I started data collection as my earlier data now no longer fits in with my study. On the other hand, it was only by making the early “mistakes” that I realised what I did actually want to do. Not much help, am I? 🙂

Leave a Reply

